Skip to main content

The American Board of Physical Therapy Specialties is the governing body for the APTA Specialist Certification Program. The 12-member board is comprised of 9 board-certified physical therapist specialists representing the 10 different specialty areas, a public representative, a consumer representative, and a tests and measurements representative. All terms begin in January, with physical therapist specialists serving four-year terms, and all other board members serving two-year terms.

Meet Your 2020-2021 ABPTS Board

Julie A. Peterson, PT, DPT
Board-Certified Women's Health Clinical Specialist
Chair
Omaha, NE
Term Expires: 12/22
jopeterson@cox.net

Marie A. Johanson, PT, PhD
Board-Certified Orthopaedic Clinical Specialist
Immediate Past Chair
Atlanta, GA
Term Expires: 12/21
majohan@emory.edu

William "Scott" Doerhoff, PT, MS
Board-Certified Geriatrics Clinical Specialist
Chair-Elect
Little Rock, AR
Term Expires: 12/23
Wsdoerhoff@hotmail.com

Cathleen Harro, PT, DPT
Board-Certified Neurologic Clinical Specialist
Grand Rapids, MI
Term Expires: 12/24
harroc@gvsu.edu

Sean Lowers, PT, DPT
Board-Certified Cardiovascular and Pulmonary Clinical Specialist
Pittsboro, NC
Term Expires: 12/22
sean.lowers@duke.edu

Scott Shaffer, PT, PhD
Board-Certified Clinical Electrophysiologic Specialist
New Braufels, TX
Term Expires: 12/24
shafferpt@gmail.com

Teresa L. Schuemann, PT, DPT, ATC
Board-Certified Sports Clinical Specialist
Loveland, CO
Term Expires: 12/21
teresa@tsdpt.com

Paula Stout, PT, DPT
Board-Certified Oncology Clinical Specialist
Crown Point, IN
Term Expires: 12/24
paulakayespt@yahoo.com

Dana Wild, PT, PhD
Board-Certified Pediatrics Clinical Specialist
League City, TX
Term Expires: 12/23
dlwild@utmb.edu

Nancy Orr, PhD
Consumer Representative
Philadelphia, PA
Term Expires: 12/22
norr@verizon.net

Patrick J. Curtin, PhD
Test and Measurements Representative
Fairfax, VA 22032
Term Expiration: 12/21
pat.curtin@yahoo.com

Marcia Ditmyer, MS, MBA, PhD
Master Certified Health Education Specialist
Public Representative
Las Vegas, NV
Term Expires: 12/22
Mditmyer@svsu.edu

Upcoming ABPTS Meetings

2022

January 31 - February 1, 2022
May 22-23, 2022
September 18-20, 2022  

2023

February 21-22, 2023
May 21-22, 2023
September TBD

Become an ABPTS Board Member

Make a difference in your profession by volunteering to serve as an ABPTS Board member. Appointments are for a four-year term. The nomination process opens in mid-may each year.

Explore Requirements and Responsibilities